Why Do You Write?

In the book Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg, she recommends the exercise of listing the reasons why you write. If ever you are feeling stuck with your writing, it is helpful to simply start with that question and see what answers you come up with.

I did this exercise myself a few months ago in one of my journals and then promptly forgot about it. Coming across it the other day, I thought it was pretty funny and wanted to share it with you all.

Why I Write:

I write because I’m hopeful

And I want to put myself through the wringer.

Because a desk job is just too painful.

So I can feel good about myself and others will too.

So I can feel bad about myself.

Because there has never been anything else.

Because of the feeling of pulling a story out of thin air

And turning it real.

Because of my friends who inspire me into creation.

Because it’s fun to make fun of people.

So I can create my own heroes.

To get through my own demons.

Because I still want my mother fucking yacht. 

I would love to hear other writers’ responses to this prompt! Feel free to create your own list and leave it in the comments.

Happy Writing-for any reason at all. Image

2 thoughts on “Why Do You Write?

Leave a Reply

