Practice Makes Perfect

Image

Main Street Writers held their annual reading at Food for Thought last Thursday

Last week I had the pleasure of participating in two public readings. One was an open mic in Northampton, Massachusetts hosted by Straw Dog Writers Guild. The other was the annual reading for Main Street Writers at Food for Though Books in Amherst.

I read the same piece for both readings; an excerpt from my novel. I chose the introduction to Little Ho Peep’s back story, a surreal story about a little girl growing up on a dump with her one-eyed gypsy abuela.

I am not naturally inclined to public speaking, it is always nerve racking. But reading my work out loud, to an audience, has been great practice.

It was such an honor having my friends and family there to support me. It also is so humbling to listen to the amazing talent that is prevalent in the Pioneer Valley. Becoming part of this community has been so important to me.

I encourage everyone out there to share their passions. Whether it is music, poetry, visual arts: I believe that the simple act of sharing can broaden our appreciate for our craft.

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “Practice Makes Perfect

  1. Beautiful experience. You will love this Nigerian author´s public speaking about her novels. Cool, calm, collected and powerful.

  2. It’s so nice to hear that you are doing what you like, that you’re learning and following yourself to the things you enjoy the most. Congratulations. Jennifer Osorio

Leave a Reply

