A Novel Idea

It hit me some time late last year. I knew what my New Years resolution for 2013 would be (and I’m not typically one for resolutions). I would finish my first novel by the end of the year. Brilliant, I thought. What a unique, interesting, admirable goal. I must get started right away.

The problem: the farther I go into this adventure, the more I realize how completely unoriginal this ambition is. I’m almost embarrassed now that I thought this would somehow be innovative, fresh, different. A young woman dropping out of the rat race to pursue her dreams. How romantic; I think I have my next book’s plot line.

It’s blown my mind seeing the community of writers out there. And the amazing thing is, what I’ve seen so far is only a minuscule fraction of what really exists. It’s been inspiring to see so many other young women following their dreams; working hard to pioneer new paths. It’s been intimidating to see so many of them thriving, growing, publishing.

Yes, it gives me hope. People do this, it happens. For some. But for how many? What I can do to give myself the best chance possible is to work hard, be patient and learn something new each day.

So far, thanks to the great online community of writers, it’s been pretty easy to do. I look forward to working with you and being inspired by you for many months to come.

5 thoughts on “A Novel Idea

  1. Elena, you have a great talent for writing. Keep writing, you are lucky to live two lives, the one you’re writing and your own life.

  2. Thank you for your encouragement and support. While I may use this blog as a place to vent certain frustrations, concerns or fears I am in truth far from giving up. I realize that writing is a passion, which like anything else has to be cultivated over time.

    Thanks for all of you who have followed my blog so far. It is a modest beginning, but every step feels like one in the right direction. Thanks for coming along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

