Blizzard Blues

I am in Massachusetts in the middle of a 24 hour snow storm. Nowhere to go and nothing to do, it’s the perfect environment for writing. I look out the window and all I see are snow covered trees, snow covered ground.

Inspiration is a strange thing. Is it better to be somewhere quiet, where I can focus on my writing? Or will I find more inspiration being in a big city surrounded by multitudes of different people? What I’m hoping is to achieve the best of both worlds. Spending long weeks in the country with the occasional city binge.

I’ve been writing on and off all day. An interesting observation: I sometimes feel I write my best when I have little to no idea of what I am writing or where it is going. On the other hand, when I have a specific scene in mind, I sometimes feel myself freeze and block.

So how do you complete a novel then? If there are a certain number of scenes I know I need to complete, do I attack them head on, or do I let myself meander and eventually (or maybe not) get to them? I’m curious, how much of a novel does a writer have planned out before it’s written? How much of that plan ends up in the final product?

For the moment, I’m leaving myself open to moving in new and unanticipated directions.

Leave a Reply

